Image description

According to the chief ministers of both states, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh signed the Namsai Declaration on Friday in an effort to resolve their seven-decade-old boundary dispute.

Following their third round of discussions on the matter, the Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Pema Khandu and his Assam colleague Himanta Biswa Sarma signed the declaration in Namsai.

The 804-km long shared border between the two states. Although there was initially no conflict, over time, claims that citizens of one state were encroaching on the territory of the other have resulted in arguments and even violence. Since 1989, a lawsuit about the matter has been pending before the Supreme Court.