Image description

After submitting his nomination for the party's presidential election, senior Congress politician Mallikarjun Kharge announced his retirement as the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha. Kharge wrote to party leader Sonia Gandhi on Friday night, "I therefore propose my resignation from the post of Leader of Opposition, Rajya Sabha, consequent upon my filing of nomination for the post of President, Congress ."

According to the party's "One person, One post" tenet, which was declared at the Udaipur "Chintan Shivir" in May, Kharge's resignation is in accordance with this.

According to information, P Chidambaram and Digvijaya Singh are the front-runners to succeed 80-year-old Kharge.

Following the retirement of prominent leader Ghulam Nabi Azad in February 2021, Kharge, a Dalit leader from Karnataka, was elected to lead the opposition in the Upper House. Since then, Azad has resigned from Congress and founded the Democratic Azad Party.

Thiruvananthapuram and Kharge Shashi Tharoor, a member of the Lok Sabha, has entered the race for the presidency of the Congress after the party on Saturday rejected the nomination of KN Tripathi, the third contender.