Image description

Following the Shiv Sena MLAs' uprising, a political conflict in Maharashtra erupted. With the Supreme Court's decision on Wednesday, the conflict has been resolved. The Supreme Court refused to stay the Governor's order to conduct the floor test following a three and a half hour session. Uddhav Thackeray went live on social media shortly after the court's decision and declared that he will leave his positions as chief minister and a member of the Legislative Council.

A majority requires 144 MLAs.

Following Uddhav Thackeray's resignation, Devendra Fadnavis and state BJP chief Chandrakant Patil met at a hotel in Mumbai with BJP and independent MLAs. They exchanged sweets. As the lone party with the most votes (106), the BJP may now lay claim to forming the government. Eventually, the magic number for a majority is 144 MLAs. 156 MLAs back the BJP in the legislature. In fact, the BJP and Shiv Sena ran for office jointly in 2019, but there was disagreement between the two parties over who should serve as CM. Together with Ajit Pawar of the NCP, Fadnavis formed the government on November 12 under the president's authority, which was lifted over night on November 23. but resigned on the third day itself. Now the BJP has equalized the account.