Image description

In connection with a money laundering investigation involving the National Herald newspaper, the Enforcement Directorate (ED) on Friday sent notices to at least five Congress politicians in Telangana, according to agency officials.

However, two members of Congress denied getting the notices.

Former Union minister Renuka Chowdhury, former Secunderabad MP P Anjan Kumar Yadav, and former state ministers J Geetha Reddy, Md Ali Shabbir, and P Sudershan Reddy were all served notices by the anti-money laundering agency and were then called in for questioning in the nation's capital on October 10 and 11, according to officials.

According to section 50 of the 2005 Prevention of Money Laundering Act, the notices were delivered.

The issue concerns alleged financial irregularities at the National Herald newspaper, which is owned by the party-supported Young Indian (YI). After a trial court in Delhi took cognizance of an Income Tax department investigation into Young Indian Pvt Ltd on the basis of a private criminal complaint filed by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Subramanian Swamy in 2013, the Enforcement Department (ED) registered a new case under the criminal provisions of the Prevention of Money Laundering Act (PMLA).